tattoos

oh, tattoos. they’re often so personal, beautiful, colorful, interesting, and permanent. i haven’t always thought tattoos were amazing. my introduction to tattoos were my grandfather’s which have faded to that odd green color and are extremely blurry. i think it’s an eagle on a shield, he got it while in the service if i remember correctly. no one else in my immediate family has one… i hate to say it, but i only just realized this.

it took watching ami and his fellows on miami ink for me to see some excellently rendered tattoos. some of his pieces are simply stunning! two  of my favorites were the 1000 petal lotus and some free hand koi that was done as a cover up. i really wish i could afford to head down to florida and get a piece by him.

as it is, i have one tattoo. a bit of text on my foot, which i was told is one of the most painful places to get tattooed. it’s really not too bad. it feels like a bee sting or a burn (i get burns a lot when i cook, so i know what i’m talking about here).

it’s based on a font i love from myfonts.com, old paris nouveau . i spent hours looking for the right font. the look i was going for was victorian or 20’s text, like the stories in my favorite books. i had about 30 different fonts picked out that i liked, i spent a few days whittling it down to 3 and took those to the artist to see which would work best. oh, the text i chose? “once upon a time…”

i absolutely adore fairy tales. (more on that later) not so much the ones you all know from disney, but the original tales pulled together by the brothers grimm, hans christian anderson, charles perrault and many others.

iit’s meaning to me is that i am the hero of my own story and am walking my own tale. my mother and closest friends tell me i live a charmed life, so why not?

i really need to a take a new pic of this, but i love how it looks in heels. it was my birthday present to me!

i’m working on deciding what other tattoo i would like. i’m narrowing it down to where i want it and working on it from there. no doubt it will make it on my social media when i get it.

maybe one day, i’ll get “happily ever after” on the other foot…

Leave a comment

Filed under musings

Leave a Reply

